State Tax Reciprocity



Reciprocal tax agreements between two states allow residents of one state to work in another state without having state tax withheld from their pay. An employee may complete a reciprocity exemption form to notify their employer of their reciprocity arrangement. Employees should notify their employer to withhold taxes in their state of residence by completing the appropriate state tax form, where applicable.

Work State	Resident State	Form
Arizona	California Indiana Oregon Virginia	Form WEC
District of Columbia (D.C.)	All States	Form D-4A
Illinois	lowa Kentucky Michigan Wisconsin	Form IL-W-5-RN
Indiana	Kentucky Michigan Ohio Pennsylvania Wisconsin	Form WH-47
Iowa	Illinois	Form 44-016
Kentucky	Illinois Indiana Michigan Ohio (May not be shareholder of 20% or more in a S Corp) Virginia (must commute daily) West Virginia Wisconsin	Form 42A809
Maryland	District of Columbia Pennsylvania Virginia West Virginia	Form MW507
Michigan	Illinois Indiana Kentucky Minnesota Ohio Wisconsin	Form MI-W4
Minnesota	Michigan North Dakota	Form MWR
Montana	North Dakota	Form MW-4

Work State	Reciprocal Resident State(s)	Form
New Jersey	Pennsylvania	<u>Form NJ-165</u>
North Dakota	Minnesota Montana	Form NDW-R
Ohio	Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia	Form IT-4NR
Pennsylvania	Indiana Maryland New Jersey Ohio Virginia West Virginia	Form REV-419 EX
Virginia	District of Columbia Kentucky Maryland Pennsylvania West Virginia	Form VA-4
West Virginia	Kentucky Maryland Ohio Pennsylvania Virginia	Form WV/IT-104R
Wisconsin	Illinois Indiana Kentucky Michigan	Form W-220

The information contained within this document is subject to change. The information is for educational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice, direction, or consent.